Committee to Review the Senior Vice President for Student Affairs Office


The Iowa State University Faculty Senate is charged with the review of the Office of the Senior Vice President for Student Affairs (basically the Division of Student Affairs).

Student Affairs provides programs and services that bring students to Iowa State University, make them a part of the Cyclone Family, and support them in their many campus learning experiences.

The Division of Student Affairs comprises of the following units:

Campus Dining
Dean of Students Office
Department of Residences
Educational Talent Search
International Students & Scholars Office
Learning Communities
Memorial Union
Office of the Registrar
Office of Student Financial Aid
Student Support Services Program
Student Counseling Services
Thielen Student Health Center
Upward Bound

The Senior Vice President for Student Affairs has the primary responsibility within the university’s administrative structure for the following critical processes:

•• recruiting and enrolling the student body;
••• administering student financial aid;
••• acclimating students to the campus through orientation programs;
••• providing housing for undergraduate and graduate students and their families;
••• providing food service for the campus community;
••• providing medical care and personal counseling for students;
••• •maintaining recreational facilities, activities, and programs;
••• maintaining discipline within the student body;
••• maintaining student academic records and organizing graduation ceremonies;
••• supporting academic life through learning communities, tutoring, and supplemental instruction;
••• addressing the needs and interests of special student populations;
••• advising, and facilitating student government and organizations; and
••• providing leadership and diversity training for the student body, as well as opportunities to participate in peer education and mentoring programs.

Iowa State University’s Division of Student Affairs strives to be widely recognized as having one of the very best student affairs operations in the nation.

We invite the University Community including students, staff, and faculty as well as residents of Ames Community to provide input regarding strengths and weaknesses pertaining to the activities of any of the above mentioned units.  We specially invite comments and suggestions that will make the Division of Student Affairs better. 

Please note that the names of the people making remarks will be kept confidential and the recommendations of the committee will not attribute the comments to any individual.


Committee Members
Chair Sanjeev Agarwal
CALS Micheal Owen
CALS Steve Freeman
CALS David Acker
HSC Tim Derrick
LAS Roberta Johnson
Student Gov Daniel Brietbarth
GPSS Zachary Zenko